Congratulations to Tara Zahra on her election to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences! Founded in 1780, the academy is one of the country’s oldest learned societies and independent policy research centers, convening leaders from the academy, business, and government to respond to challenges facing the nation and the world.


Tara joins the ranks of thirteen other departmental historians in the academy: Dipesh Chakrabarty, Bruce Cumings, Sheila Fitzpatrick, Cornell Fleischer, Michael Geyer, Jan Goldstein, Neil Harris, Tom Holt, William McNeill (deceased), Tets Najita, David Nirenberg, Ken Pomeranz, and Bill Sewell.