Congratulations to the 2021 BA thesis prize winners!

Three students won 2021 BA thesis awards from the Department of History:

Barnard Prize (for the best thesis in United States history)

  • Helen Malley, "'We are only demanding our country': The Legal History of Lakota Survivance and the Long War for the West"  (advised by Matthew Kruer)

Karafiol Prize (for the best thesis in non-United States history)

This year’s Karafiol Prize is shared.

  • Isabella Jackson-Saitz, "Above the Urban Crowd: Negotiations of Elite Urban Masculinity in Fourteenth Century Paris" (advised by Jonathan Lyon)
  • Katia Kukucka, "Violent Delights and Violent Ends: Renaissance Politics of Italian Sovereignty and the Case of Pier Luigi Farnese, 1534-1549" (advised by Ada Palmer)

Awards and honors from the College:

Ruth Murray Essay Prize (for the best thesis in women's studies, feminist criticism, gender or sexuality studies)

  • Jake La Fronz,  "Chicago Police Raid Gay Bars, 1969–1989"

We are so proud of all of our students! For those who are graduating, please keep in touch.