Brenda Shapiro has made an important gift to help us recruit top PhD students to the Department of History. Beginning with the Class of 2017, and continuing for 2018 and 2019, the best five students selected for admission will be named Brenda and Earl Shapiro Scholars in History. The 2017–18 Shapiro Scholars will receive a five-year fellowship, totalling $25,000, on top of the regular fellowship awarded by the Division of Social Sciences.

Brenda Shapiro and her family are loyal donors to the University of Chicago, with particular interests in early childhood education, the humanities, and the arts. Emilio Kourí, chair of History, joins David Nirenberg, dean of the Social Sciences, in thanking Brenda Shapiro for her generosity.

Joanne M. Berens, MFA'93

We welcome gifts to History from our many alumni and friends.