The Organization of American Historians has named seven University of Chicago historians to its Distinguished Lectureship Program. Founded in 1981, the program is an easy-to-use resource to identify and contact leading historians who will share their expertise with the public.  Congratuations to the 2016–17 Chicago speakers:

Cathleen Cahill, PhD'04, associate professor, University of New Mexico
Jane Dailey, associate professor, University of Chicago
Allyson Hobbs, PhD'09, assistant professor, Stanford University
Andrés Reséndez, PhD'97, professor, University of California, Davis
James Sparrow, associate professor, University of Chicago
Amy Dru Stanley, associate professor, University of Chicago
Barbara Welke, PhD'95, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, University of Minnesota

Other Chicago historians in the speakers bureau include Gabriela Arredondo, PhD'99, Mark Bradley, Bernadottte E. Schmitt Professor, Adam Green, associate professor,  Laurie Green, PhD'99, Daniel Greene, PhD'04, Ramón Gutiérrez, Preston and Sterling Morton Distinguished Service Professor, Jonathan Levy, PhD'08, associate professor, Ajay Mehrotra, PhD'03, and Andrew Sandoval-Strausz, PhD'02.

All speakers donate their lecture fees to the OAH, which helps the organization fulfill its mission of promoting excellence in the scholarship, teaching, and presentation of American history. To book a lecturer for your group contact the lectureship program coordinator.

By Joanne M. Berens, MFA'93