The department is pleased to announce that several undergraduate historians have received awards and fellowships this year. Congratulations to all of these students and to the graduating class!

Two students have won the 2020 BA Thesis Awards in History:

The Barnard Prize (for the best thesis written in US History)

  • Philip O'Sullivan, "Putting a Check on Police Violence: The Legal Services Market, Section 1983, Torture, Abusive Detention Practices, and the Chicago Police Department from 1954 to 1967" (Advised by Destin Jenkins)

The Karafiol Prize (for the best thesis written in non-US History)

  • Lena Breda, "Ruinetto's Loaf: The Effect of the 1590 Famine on Sixteenth-Century Bolognese Dietetics" (Advised by Paul Cheney)

A number of students have received awards and honors through the College:

Asada Eiji BA Thesis Prize (for the best thesis on topics related to East Asia)

  • Mark Chen, "Translating a Paradigm: Empiricism in Nineteenth-Century Japanese Chemistry" (Advised by Susan L. Burns)

Nicholson Center BA Thesis Prize (for the best thesis in British studies based on primary materials)

  • Thomas Noriega, "Abounds with Scotticisms: Platonism and Enlightenment in Eighteenth-Century Scotland" (Advised by Adrian Johns)

Howell Murray Alumni Association Award

  • Jahne Brown (AB'20) received an award for student leadership, dedication, and ambition

John Haeseler Lewis Prize

  • Michelle Chong (AB'20) received an award for the "best graduating senior majoring in Physics"

Lisa Crone Prize for Excellence in the Study of Russian Literature

  • Alex Price received an award for being the "most accomplished major graduating in Russian literature and culture"

Louis Sudler Prize in the Performing and Creative Arts

  • Julia Attie (AB'20) received the award in recognition of "academic achievement in performing and creative arts"

Yovovich Family Fund Grant for Research and Language Study in Europe

  • Thomas Noriega (AB'20) received a grant to support research or study in Europe

Several current and former history students have also received national scholarships:

Boren Scholars

  • Peter Bound (AB'21) received a scholarship to study French in Senegal

Critical Language Scholars

  • Julia Gerdin (AB'21) was named an alternate for studying Chinese

Fulbright Grantees

  • Lena Breda (AB'20) received a research grant for travel to Italy
  • Michelle Chong (AB'20) received an English Teaching Assistantship to teach in Indonesia
  • Chloe Hyman (AB'20) received an English Teaching Assistantship to teach in Kosovo
  • Maya de Jonge (AB'20) was named an alternate for the English Teaching Assistantship in Ecuador
  • Katelyn Kasperian (AB'19) received an English Teaching Assistantship to teach in Bulgaria
  • Benjamin Weinstein (AB'20) received an English Teaching Assistantship to teach in Morocco

National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellows

  • Michelle Chong (AB'20) received a stipend for post-graduate study in STEM

We are so proud of all of our students! For those of you who are graduating, please do keep in touch.