History graduate students garnered many awards in 2017–18, including teaching prizes, internships through the Mellon Foundation's Making History Work pilot program, summer language and research grants, and dissertation fellowships.

Making History Work

Mellon Interns

Emily Masghati, records analyst intern, Office of Community Planning and Development, Housing and Urban Development (HUD), winter 2017
Sandra Park, intern, Courage project, Trinity College, Dublin, summer 2017
Eilin Rafael Pérez, intern, Bard Prison Initiative, spring 2017

The History Challenge invited graduate students to develop a public-history project related to the Hyde Park–Kenwood community in Chicago. The winning team received airfare, lodging, and registration to the American Historical Association's 2018 Annual Meeting.

Nicholas Kryczka, US 1900–Present
Emily Masghati, US 1900–Present
Savitri Sedlacek, US 1900–Present

Foreign Language Grants

Committee on Japanese Studies Professional Training Grant (summer) and 2017–18 Supplementary Grant

Ian Cipperly (summer & supplementary)—Inter-University Center, Yokohama (Japanese)
Thomas L. Gimbel (summer)

Summer Foreign Language & Area Studies (FLAS) Grants

Nicholas Huzvai—University School of Croatian Language and Culture, Zagreb (Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian)
Roy Kimmey—Debreceni Nyßri Egyetem, Budapest (Hungarian)
Rose Malloy—Univerza v Ljubljani (Slovenian)
Amanda Mitchell—Caminhos Language Centre, Rio de Janeiro (Portuguese)
Stephanie Painter—University of Chicago (Japanese)
Keyao (Kyle) Pan—Sendagaya Japanese Institute, Tokyo (Japanese)
Benjamin Van Zee—Catholic University of Lublin (Polish)

2017–18 FLAS Fellowships

Nicholas Huzsvai—2nd-year student (Bosnian, Croatian, and Serbian)
Carl Kubler—3rd-year student (Japanese)
Yujie Li—1st-year student (Japanese)
Lina Mistron—1st-year student (Japanese)
Amanda Mitchell—2nd-year student (Portuguese)
Yasser Nasser—1st-year student (Chinese)
Stephanie Painter—2nd-year student (Chinese)
Sandra Park—3rd-year student (Russian)

Teaching Prizes

History Undergraduate Program Coordinator

The coordinator manages all aspects of the BA program in history and supports the faculty chair of the Collegiate Affairs Committee.

Kyle Gardner, International & South Asia

Bessie Louise Pierce Prize

Pierce Peceptors advise history undergraduates in the research and writing of BA essays and gain a year of experience in all aspects of undergradute teaching.

Mariana Brandman, US 1900–Present
Christopher Kindell, US pre-1900
Nicholas Kryczka, US 1900–Present
Lisa Scott, Medieval and Early Modern Europe
Caroline Séquin, Modern Europe
Nicole Beckmann Tessel, Middle East/Islam

Von Holst Prize

Named for Hermann Eduard von Holst, first head of the Department of History (1892–1900), the prize is awarded to advance history students.

Emilio de Antuñano Villarreal—The Migrant City: Migration, Urbanization, and the Making of the Americas in the Twentieth Century (Aut. 17)
Elisa Jones—Heretics and Martyrs: The Problem of Toleration in the European Reformation (Spr. 18)
Justin Niermeier-Dohoney—Natural History and Empire, circa 1500–1800 (Spr. 18)

Center for the Study of Race, Politics, and Culture Graduate Lectureship

Minyong Lee—Prophecy and Insurgency in the British Empire (Spr. 18)
Kai Parker—Black Religion and the Criminal Justice System (Spr. 18)
Caroline Séquin—Gender and Race in the Atlantic World (Win. 18)

Chicago Center for Teaching Fellow

Fellows act as mentors to their students peers on issues related to teaching and pedagogy.

Nicholas Kryczka, US 1900–Present

Environmental Studies Prize

Amy Coombs, Britain—Revolutionizing Agriculture: Early Modern Technologies for the New Millennium (Spr. 18)

Global Studies Prize Lectureship

Zachary Leonard, South Asia—Religion and Revolt in the British Empire (Spr. 18)

History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Science and Medicine

Zachary Barr—Modernities and Microscopes: Sociopolitical Change and Scientific Knowledge (Win. 18)
Kristine Palmieri—Knowledge of Man, Society, and Culture, 1700–1914 (Spr. 18)

Francis X. Kinahan Memorial Prize of Excellence in the Teaching of Writing for Advanced Undergraduates

Emily Forden Calderbank, Ancient

Masters of Art Program in Social Sciences Preceptor

Preceptors help MA students define their areas of academic specialization, choose courses, and select faculty sponsors; they also guide and evaluate the research and writing of MA papers.

John Cropper, Africa
Taeju Kim, International

Social Sciences Teaching Fellow

The program is for recent Chicago PhDs who wish to enhance their pedagogical skills and extend their research training.

Guy Emerson Mount—A Global History of Reparations (Win. 18); Black Pacific (Spr. 18)
Basil Salem, PhD '16—Philosophers, Mystics, and Revolutionaries: A Social History of the Poet in the Arab and Islamic World (Spr. 18)

2017–18 Predissertation Research Grants

Robert BurgosCenter for East Asian Studies
Thomas GimbelCenter for East Asian Studies
Alexander JaniaCenter for East Asian Studies
Erika JeckEdward L. Ryerson Archaelogical Travel; American-Scandinavian Foundation
Nicholas JohnsonBrenda and Earl Shapiro Scholar
Haeyoung KimCenter for East Asian Studies
Carl KublerHenry Luce Foundation/ACLS Program in China Studies
Matthew LowensteinHenry Luce Foundation/ACLS Program in China Studies
Kevin PowellBrenda and Earl Shapiro Scholar
Surabhi PudasainiBrenda and Earl Shapiro Scholar
Emily RapFrançois Furet Travel
Camille ReynoldsEdward L. Ryerson Archaelogical Travel
Andrew SeberBrenda and Earl Shapiro Scholar
Caroline SéquinWilliam Shorrock Travel, French Colonial Historical Society
Spencer StewartCenter for East Asian Studies; Henry Luce Foundation/ACLS Program in China Studies

2017–18 Research Fellowships

Zachary BarrStevanovich Institute on the Formation of Knowledge
Keegan BoyarCLAS Tinker (Mexico); Center for Latin American Studies–Mellon (declined); Fulbright-Hays (Mexico)
Emily Forden CalderbankNational Institute on Aging; Urban Network
Daina CoffeyHuntington Library; Urban Network; CSRPC Residential
Jessa Dahl—Japan Foundation (Japan)
Charles Begue FawellChateaubriand Fellowship (France)
Aimee GenovaM. Alison Frantz, American School of Classical Studies at Athens
Sonia GomezMIT Diversity
Carmine GrimaldiFilm Studies Center-Harvard University
Haeyoung Kim—Fulbright (China)
Christopher Kindell—Morris Fishbein Center for the History of Science and Medicine; Urban Network
Deirdre LyonsÉcole des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales Exchange, France Chicago Center
Erin McCullugh—Fulbright (declined); Fulbright-Hays (Brazil)
Justin Niermeier-DohoneyDibner Library Resident Scholar, Smithsonian (declined)
Nicholas O'Neill—Fulbright (France); École Normale Supérieure Graduate Student Exchange
Emily RapCollège de France Exchange, France Chicago Center
Charlotte RobertsonGeorges Lurcy (France)
Christian RochaFulbright-Hays (Mexico)
Caroline SéquinFarrar Memorial Award, Society for French Historical Studies; Center for the Study of Gender and Sexuality
Steven ServerCLAS Tinker (Mexico)
Ben Van ZeeAmerican Councils Title VIII (declined); Fulbright-Hays (Poland); 2017 Kosciuszko Foundation Graduate Study and Research in Poland Scholarship

2017–18 Dissertation Completion Fellowships

Marcel Anduiza PimentelCenter for United States–Mexican Studies, University of California San Diego
Michaela AppeltováT. Bentley Duncan
Mohamad BallanMellon–American Council of Learned Societies
Zebulon DingleyCharlotte W. Newcombe
Elizabeth FretwellCenter for the Study of Gender and Sexuality
Christopher Gatto—Andrew W. Mellon
Elisa JonesDoris G. Quinn Foundation
Trish Kahle—Andrew W. Mellon
Noriko KanaharaCenter for East Asian Studies Toyota
Jared Kreiner—Andrew W. Mellon
Zachary Leonard—William Rainey Harper; CISSR
Justin Niermeier-DohoneyT. Bentley Duncan
Eric Phillips—Andrew W. Mellon
Joshua Vera—Harry Barnard