Welcome to the Department of History

We are a vibrant intellectual community consisting of nearly fifty full-time faculty members, accomplished postdoctoral fellows and visiting faculty, and strong cohorts of graduate and undergraduate students. We are known for our cutting-edge research and the expansive scope of our expertise, which covers six continents and most of recorded history. We are committed teachers and student mentors, boasting twenty winners of the Quantrell Prize, the University of Chicago's highest honor for teaching. We are immensely proud of our alumni, who enjoy successful careers in a wide variety of fields.

News and Anouncements

History Faculty Members Receive Neubauer Fellowships

The Neubauer Collegium for Culture and Society has announced its 2020-2021 Faculty Research Projects, which include fell

University of Chicago Ranks 10th Nationally by Number of History Bachelor's Degrees

According to a recent article in The Chronicle of Higher Education, the University of Chicago

Career Spotlight: Stephanie Ban, AB'18

UChicago history majors take all kinds of different paths after graduation.

Eleonory Gilburd Awarded Three Book Prizes

We are pleased to announce that Eleonory Gilburd has won three prizes for 

Kenneth Pomeranz Receives Honorary Degree

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology has awarded Kenneth Pomeranz a