The Government of West Bengal has awarded Dipesh Chakrabarty a 2019 Tagore Memorial Prize for his collection of essays, The Crises of Civilization (Oxford, 2018).


Established in 1950, the annual prize, known in India as the Rabindra Puraskar or Rabindra Smirti Puraskar, is the highest honorary literary award given by West Bengal for contribution in Bengali or West Bengal–related literature. Previous awardees include Satinath Bhaduri, Sushobhan Sarkar, Radharani Devi, Sankha Ghosh, Amartya Sen, Shakti Chattopadhyay, Ralph Nicholas, Amit Chaudhuri, and Kazuo Azuma.

Chakrabarty is the Lawrence A. Kimpton Distinguished Service Professor of History, South Asian Languages and Civilizations, and the College. He has received many honors for contributions to postcolonial studies and the history of climate, including the Toynbee Foundation Prize and fellowship in the Australian Academy of the Humanities and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

By Joanne M. Berens, MFA'93, jberens[at]