Sheila Fitzpatrick has been selected to receive the AHA Award for Scholarly Distinction at the 127th Annual meeting in New Orleans this coming January.  The Council created this award back in 1984 with the intent that it should become one of the highest honors that a historian in the United States can receive. 

Each year, a nominating jury consisting of AHA’s Past President, President, and President-Elect recommends to the Council up to three names of senior historians whose work represents superlative originality, creativity, and achievement.  Previous awards have gone to sixty-eight eminent scholars.