Alison Winter, professor of the history of science and medicine, has received the 2014 Laing Prize for her book, Memory: Fragments of a Modern History. The prize is awarded annually by the University of Chicago Press to the faculty author, editor, or translator of a book published in the previous three years that brings the Press the greatest distinction.

“Tracing the cultural and scientific history of our understanding of memory, Winter introduces readers to innovative scientists and sensationalistic seekers,” the Press wrote in announcing the honor. “She draws on evidence ranging from scientific papers to diaries to movies in order to explore the way that new understandings from the laboratory have seeped out into psychiatrists' offices, courtrooms, and the culture at large. Along the way, she investigates the sensational battles over the validity of repressed memories and shows how changes in technology—such as the emergence of recording devices and computers—have altered the way we conceptualize and even try to study the ways we remember.”

Since its inception in 1963, the prize has been awarded nine other times to History faculty members: Keith M. Baker (1976), Eric W. Cochrane (1975), Jonathan Hall (2004), Richard Hellie (1984), Adrian Johns (2012), Donald F. Lach (1967), William H. McNeill (1964), and Robert J. Richards (2003 and 2011). The prize in named for Gordon J. Laing, the editor of the University of Chicago Press from 1908 to 1921 and from 1923 to 1940.

The President of the Republic of Turkey, His Excellency Mr. Abdullah Gül, has awarded Cornell Fleischer, Kanuni Suleyman Professor of Ottoman and Modern Turkish Studies, the Order of Merit of the Turkish Presidency. This prestigious award is given to prominent foreigners who have made significant contributions to the promotion of Turkey in the areas of culture, science, and education.

Thomas C. Holt, James Westfall Thompson Professor of American and African American History, has been awarded a Wilbur Lucius Cross Medal, the highest honor given by Yale University’s Graduate School. Established in 1966, the medal is named for the dean of the Graduate School from 1916 to 1930 and recognizes distinguished achievements by Yale alumni in the academy and public service.

By Joanne M. Berens, MFA'93,